Glimpses of April

IMG_2452

Pouring the roof a few weeks ago.

Hard workers every day at the Sant Mouvman!  The progress this month is crazy – it looks like there’s a week worth of new work every day when we stop by in the afternoon! There’s a core of about ten workers who are now working 7am – 7pm each day, while more workers work 7am – 4pm.

IMG_2875

What the guest house looked like earlier this week – not even a week later, it doesn’t look the same today!

IMG_2311

Small glimpse of a classroom at ECCC. This is where we held our first ESL class (we’re now in a classroom that is made up of more benches than desks), you can see Tiffany talking with a student who stayed late to talk. Class is from 2-3 in the afternoon, but the crowd has grown after class and we’re usually at the school until 4.

I’d love to have a few more pictures of the class for you – but pulling out my phone means that I have to spend ten minutes of the class just settling kids down again. (Teachers, I’m sure you understand!)

This is before class (these girls aren't in the class, they're some kids that we love to visit with when we're in Bercy) - see what I mean about the pictures? I love Loughani's face here :)

This is before class (these girls aren’t in the class, they’re some kids that we love to visit with when we’re in Bercy) – see what I mean about the pictures? I love Loughani’s face here 🙂

IMG_2828

Our latest team from Grace Canada in CPR-3’s Moringa Center, watching the process of dried leaves turning into powder. This plant is the key to CPR-3’s initiative against malnutrition – the tree only grows in malnourished countries, with leaves that carry all of the vitamins that a person needs each day in just two tablespoons.

So cool to see this process from planting seeds to seeing the progress of two sisters who looked like twins last June. The girls are 3 years apart (the oldest is five) – yet they were the same size, with sad faces and noses that were constantly running.  The sisters, Hope and Jessica, are now two different sizes! They are healthier, starting to look happier, and they represent the potential to turn lives around with proper nutrition given by this ‘miracle plant’.

IMG_2767

Amanda feeding some rice with moringa to Hope – a girl that was abandoned on a CPR-3 construction site last summer. Love, attention, prayers, and moringa have made a difference in this girl’s life over the past 10 months!

IMG_2954

Beyonce & Fritzlande – two girls who live in one of our partner villages. Beyonce has the biggest smile and her favorite place to sit is my lap. Some of the best afternoons are spent in Laborderie building relationships with teenage girls after school while this 3 year old giggles with me.

Laborderie is a community just a few minutes away from our future home in Bercy. This is where I go to church, visit Stefan (a boy who loves our similar names) to help with ESL, and sit in the shade on a chair that is brought out for me to just talk in Creole with girls. The girls have moved from standing off to the side to sitting across from me and asking questions while answering mine. My goal is to focus on this exact group with the theme of worth & beauty as a daughter of THE king. I see beauty and potential in each girl, overlooked or underestimated by others.

IMG_2761

Same community – Laborderie is near the beach. The last team, Grace Canada, walked with the kids down to the water. On the way back, Josh (with the guitar) was singing as he walked with a crowd behind me!

And some pictures of day to day life…

Picking up green peppers in market, 3 for 25 gourde  (Yeah, I know I have an outdated hair clip in...it's hot, all I care about is getting it up somehow!)

Picking up green peppers in market, 3 for 25 gourde
(Yeah, I know I have a 90’s hair clip in…it’s hot, don’t judge!)

And cooking...no part of the animal is wasted. Amanda & I don't like being watched by the fish, our friends laugh at us and suck the eyeballs out before eating the entire head.

And cooking…no part of the animal is wasted. Amanda & I don’t like being watched by the fish, our friends laugh at us and suck the eyeballs out before eating the entire head.

Progress! This was a few days ago on the top floor of the Sant Mouvman. Tthey're already done with the finish work, it took half of a week for the finish work with the concrete in this area.

Progress! This was a few days ago on the top floor of the Sant Mouvman. Tthey’re already done with the finish work, it took half of a week for the finish work with the concrete in this area.

Visitors drop by almost every day. Tiffany: "I wish I could be your age again. Just be cute, color, and eat snacks all day."

Visitors drop by almost every day. Tiffany talking to Maryanne’s daughter: “I wish I could be your age again. Just be cute, color, and eat snacks all day.”

Eating melon off the rinds that I was cutting for family dinner with some freshly painted nails.

Eating melon off the rinds that I was cutting for family dinner with some freshly painted nails.

"Trampoline" for a boy bored at his mother's stand in market.

“Trampoline” for a boy bored at his mother’s stand in market.

Trying to carry lots of plants & plantains back from market, we tried to organize it into a bookbag. She had a long walk ahead of her and leaves kept falling!

Trying to carry lots of plants & plantains back from market, we tried to organize it into a bookbag. She had a long walk ahead of her and leaves kept falling!

And finally...what I get on my phone after letting a friend use it for music. You should have heard my laugh when I went to upload pictures from my phone and found this surprise. Half a dozen selfies, mixed in with some videos too. This is Beyonce's dad, he loves Akon & had a new haircut the day that he borrowed my phone.

And finally…what I get on my phone after letting a friend use it for music. You should have heard my laugh when I went to upload pictures from my phone and found this surprise.
Half a dozen selfies, mixed in with some videos too. This is Beyonce’s dad Dadiye, he loves Akon & had a new haircut the day that he borrowed my phone.

Happy Friday! Right now we’re boiling water for rice and visiting with kids who are helping our new intern, Kellie, learn Creole. Tomorrow is Fet Drapo (Flag Day) here in Haiti, we’re already seeing celebrations start today. Kindergartners are running around with miniature flags and as I bought food for family dinner everyone was talking excitedly in market about their plans.  Praying for our friends tonight, and how each dinner makes an impact for His kingdom!

2 thoughts on “Glimpses of April

Leave a Reply

