Snapshots.

After a few weeks of a whirlwind schedule, I’m almost ready to get back to writing. In the meantime, I’d love to lift up your rainy day with some pieces of March.

The patient, his mama, and a friend that wanted to be in the picture.

The patient, his mama, and a friend that wanted to be in the picture.

Dr. Stephanie is a thing now. People joke about it, but then really bring burns and cuts to the gate and ask for me. TiYuyu here, the one being held up by his mother, was a brave patient when it came to an old burn that needed scraped and re-cleaned. He’s doing great now and is infection free!

ADORABLE friends who came for support.

ADORABLE friends who came for support.

Around the community….

Kiki has been himself.

Kiki has been himself.

His mom & family have been working hard as always, this day was laundry and preparing food to sell.

His mom & family have been working hard as always, this day was laundry and preparing food to sell.

TiYuyu needed checked up on, for bandages to be changed and to make sure that I treated him the right way
(cause, besides prayer, I had no idea what to do). Instead of telling him to come back, I used it as a way to build a relationship with him and his family and neighbors. We had a blast every time I’d visit.

I've had a ton of fun with this family.

I’ve had a ton of fun with this family.

IMG_4736

Accidental selfie that we all laughed about for the rest of the afternoon.

Accidental selfie that we all laughed about for the rest of the afternoon.

IMG_4728

IMG_4796

Featured accessory: The dog.

A family chicken came out as a photo accessory as well.

We also have house guests this month as Pastor Samedy prepares to move his family to Canaan. He has three daughters and his wife, Venise, is a beautiful woman of faith that I love having time with.

Schama & Ruth, 5 & 8

Schama & Ruth, 5 & 8

Schama is all about getting her picture taken and loves being by someone's side whenever possible.

Schama is all about getting her picture taken and loves being by someone’s side whenever possible.

Ruth is super smart and super expressive, just like her father.

Ruth is super smart and super expressive, just like her father.

Pheobe, one year old, loves the camera too. She can be found constantly with people.

Pheobe, one year old, loves the camera too. She can be found constantly with people.

I introduced the girls to our neighbors and they had a blast playing with new friends and teams over the past month. Pheobe just loves people and getting loved on, by the last week I was in Haiti she was only taking naps if I walked with her first.

Pheobe also met Westhlineda and LOVED her. Wes...not so much. Mickens was everyone's favorite playmate as well.

Pheobe also met Westhlineda and LOVED her. Wes…not so much. Mickens was everyone’s favorite playmate as well.

I did lots of hair between teams. I had a few moms tell their daughters, “Go over and sit with Stephanie so she can undo your hair”…and they sat, so I shrugged and unbraided hair while mothers cooked food.

Mom was cooking while I did hair. The goat was searching for a snack.

Mom was cooking while I did hair. The goat was searching for a snack.

IMG_4860

One Sunday afternoon I got to get some time in Labourdie before leaving Haiti: doing hair, watching kids jump into a fishing net (the family makes them to sell), and being politely forced to eat a generous meal after church.

Everyone undoes their hair on the weekend to get ready for school on Monday, so I went ahead and took care of Biyence & Jessica.

Everyone undoes their hair on the weekend to get ready for school on Monday, so I went ahead and took care of Biyence & Jessica.

IMG_4895

Making juice for the big meal. Corrosol is an ugly but delicious fruit.

Making juice for the big meal. Corrosol is an ugly but delicious fruit.

IMG_4875

I got to see some awesome progress in Archaiae, a city fifteen minutes away by moto that has projects successfully finished by President Martelly. This president ‘for the people’ has done an awesome job of coming up from Haiti’s corrupt past.

New bridge about to be opened this month with a ceremony.

New bridge about to be opened this month with a ceremony.

Huge indoor market: Sanitary, Cool, Smells better, Dry....I could go on...

Huge indoor market: Sanitary, Cool, Smells better, Dry….I could go on…

IMG_4977

I gave Joslin my phone and permission to use it. This quickly turned into him constantly saying "smile!" and snapping pictures everywhere as I talked to merchants about the market and what their prices are like compared to other cities.

I gave Joslin my phone and permission to use it. This quickly turned into him constantly saying “smile!” and snapping pictures everywhere as I talked to merchants about the market and what their prices are like compared to other cities.

That view! (The market has two stories, this is from an upstairs window)

That view! (The market has two stories, this is from an upstairs window)

IMG_5034

We had two teams this month, the first was a medical one from Grace Pickerington. More than the physical healing and powerful work that happened (OVER 350 patients seen in 3 1/2 clinic days!), I loved seeing evidence of RELATIONSHIPS all week long!

I missed the jumping hug, but Ryan and his friend were thrilled to reunite after months of asking about each other.

I missed the jumping hug, but Ryan and his friend were thrilled to reunite after months of asking about each other.

Shashu smiling is a big win.

Shashu smiling is a big win.

Hanging out under registrtion.

Hanging out under registrtion.

Billy became a good friend of my sister in January and also a fan of Pickerington sports thanks to Devon!

Billy became a good friend of my sister in January and also a fan of Pickerington sports thanks to Devon!

Schama LOVED Amberly.

Schama LOVED Amberly.

IMG_5110

Devinson, my buddy since trip one, has a habit of hanging out in doorways where I'm working. He's on the right.

Devinson, my buddy since trip one, has a habit of hanging out in doorways where I’m working. He’s on the right.

IMG_5098

IMG_5093

Christopher is an awesome helper, a comedian, an artist, and a friend who always asks about Sarah (who came in June)

Christopher is an awesome helper, a comedian, an artist, and a friend who always asks about Sarah (who came in June)

Fregel, our driver, came to church every time we were in Canaan on a Sunday since January! This is a big win.

IMG_5182

Sunday school after church with the kids was a big hit, talking about Jesus calming the raging seas.IMG_5214

IMG_5205

LOVE Venise's leadership and heart, she is a joy to watch with the kids and other women.

LOVE Venise’s leadership and heart, she is a joy to watch with the kids and other women.

Schama came to me with a loose tooth in the middle of church....her mom sent her to me. So we pulled it in church and she now has this adorable one-less-tooth smile.

Schama came to me with a loose tooth in the middle of church….her mom sent her to me. So we pulled it in church and she now has this adorable one-less-tooth smile.

As I prepared to come to America in the midst of teams, I partnered with Simon and Gabe to make OSU bracelets to sell. They were happy to partner and show off their work when they finished on Sunday.

IMG_5247 IMG_5253

Clinics throughout the week were loaded with waiting patients when we pulled up, people to follow up on at home, and lots of intentional care.

IMG_5266

Augustine stopped breathing in January, but was waiting with a big smile for visitors for this trip

Augustine stopped breathing in January, but was waiting with a big smile for visitors for this trip

This is just one patient that captured hearts, a sweet woman who we all called "Manmi" and who was waiting when we arrived. She gave thanks and kisses in abundance to everyone she interacted with.

This is just one patient that captured hearts, a sweet woman who we all called “Manmi” and who was waiting when we arrived. She gave thanks and kisses in abundance to everyone she interacted with.

I snuck away to visit one of my favorite family homes when I needed it one afternoon.

I snuck away to visit one of my favorite family homes when I needed it one afternoon.

Mom is pregnant with #8! She wasn't happy when she found out because she has no means, but I was happy to see smiles and excitement from her this visit.

Mom is pregnant with #8! She wasn’t happy when she found out because she has no means, but I was happy to see smiles and excitement from her this visit.

They live right by Samedy's new road, his house in progress is on the left.

They live right by Samedy’s new road, his house in progress is on the left.

After Pickerington left, our Director of Operations Scott Feather got some QT playing cards with Ruth, who LOVED it. This smart girl picked up quick and then waited patiently every day for Scott to have time to play after dinner and team process time with Movement Church.

IMG_5399

This happened with Kiki:

IMG_5427 IMG_5425

I know.

Then Marie Claude came over:

IMG_5411

& talked about some rough stuff going on in her life. Pray for her with us, please.

Jessica came over to play with Schama, who loved it!

IMG_5353

And then Movement Church arrived:

Movement Church was on their first trip, they met Pastor Patrick for the first time and shared introductions and vision.

Movement Church was on their first trip, they met Pastor Patrick for the first time and shared introductions and vision.

Patrick showed Movement Church the community of Total, where they are partnered now

IMG_5440 IMG_5450

He also showed them a schoolhouse with three rooms, put together with tarp and wood pallets. There are over 70 students.

IMG_5462 IMG_5466

Later that day, I got a ride in the rain on a moto and laughed with the driver about his poncho (which turned into a balloon in the wind as he drove)

His joke was "I am inside, you are outside"

His joke was “I am inside, you are outside”

It hardly ever rains during the day (I can count on one hand the amount of times it happened the past year), but Kiki was prepared:

IMG_5475

Samedy spent his rainy day going to market and individually packing packages for over 20 families in Canaan who cannot afford to eat. He was bursting with excitement as he asked me to come see and take pictures of bags with three days worth of food for every family (we’re talking families of minimum half a dozen people)

IMG_5486

IMG_5481

He was SO excited, that my pictures were all blurry from movement.

Later that week, Ruth did my hair for school.

Schama jumped in.

IMG_5682

Actually, I have a lot of pictures that Schama jumped in…

IMG_5681

While they did hair and jumped all around, Pheobe rocked the “socks with my sandals” look:

IMG_5585

And then Movement Church rocked it out relationally for the week:

Visiting the home of the woman opening her doors for prayer meetings of the Total church plant.

Visiting the home of the woman opening her doors for prayer meetings of the Total church plant.

Kids writing their information down for Tanner after taking back roads with him through Total.

Kids writing their information down for Tanner after taking back roads with him through Total.

IMG_5644

Visiting homes: The host always pulls out the best chairs.

Visiting homes: The host always pulls out the best chairs.

Mark, Movement Church's pastor, asked people like our translator Enoch about the community

Mark, Movement Church’s pastor, asked people like our translator Enoch about the community

Coming home, Movement loved on both Bercy and the kids staying in our home

After a day in Total, Movement loved on both Bercy and the kids staying in our home

And finally….Mickens. Bummed that I was leaving soon, he started jumping into every picture.

IMG_5663

(Dalinsky has the BEST smile though, doesn’t he?!)

& there you have it, your photo fix until I start writing again. There’s a tiny glimpse into March for you.

I’m now in Ohio, support raising and “refueling” until June. If you’d like to partner in these relationships by supporting me, feel free to use the “Partner With Me” page or shoot me a message at steph2haiti@gmail.com!

One thought on “Snapshots.

  1. Hey Steph,

    I hope you have enjoyed your time at home. I just wanted to give you a heads up of what tonight will look like. We will hang out for about 15 minutes and then play a game for about 20 minutes and then I will do a welcome/introduction/prayer and hand it off to you. After our discussion we will break up guys and girls and we will pray. If you have any questions or concerns feel free to ask. By the way my phone number is 614-940-5491.

    Thank you, Brandon harmony

Leave a Reply

