Highs & Lows #2

If you haven’t read yesterday’s highs & lows, check it out! I’ll just start off where we stopped:

Low: Speaking health – do you remember hearing about the mother who was pregnant, but wished she wasn’t because she already has seven children she can’t provide for? She’s pregnant with twins. She has no idea what she’s going to do.

High: But she is SO happy, so hospitable to me as we sit and talk away the hot afternoons in her humble home that somehow fits everyone. We sit on the floor, made of plywood, propped up against the straw beds as we fan each other in the heat. She happens to be the mother of Davinson, who I connected with my very first time in Haiti, and she has beautiful teenage daughters that I now spend my time with as well now that they’ve warmed up to me. She was overly thankful for baby clothes that were donated by YOU.

Devinson, who sneaked to sit behind me at the anniversary for the church, playing around quietly in the background like usual.

Devinson, who sneaked to sit behind me at the anniversary for the church, playing around quietly in the background like usual.

Potential low, but it’s a High: She told me a story that reminded me how important it is to pray. A man from Brazil offered to buy her youngest daughters as well as her unborn children – and with no other hope for the future she was going to. Thank the Lord, literally the Lord, someone told her not to and she listened. Her family is prayed for, especially by one friend who has connected with her youngest daughter Shashu. And what a reminder to continue to pray against human trafficking – and for awareness to become global as it just now starts to make headway in America. It’s disgustingly low that someone would come see a vulnerable mother as a potential to make a profit off of human lives – but our God is so much bigger, and holds her and each child in his hands.

I just love sitting in her home, she asked for this photo & I don't know if she understands how beautiful she is.

I just love sitting in her home, she asked for this photo & I don’t know if she understands how beautiful she is.

Her home - the inside is about the size of the average living room in America.

Her home – the inside is about the size of the average living room in America.

Low: When I first saw Shashu when I returned to Haiti in June, she walked slowly up to me with her big eyes and silent walk and came up to stand behind me until I turned to notice her and give her kisses. As I turned to pick her up, I noticed her hair was a brighter orange than I’d ever seen on her before – a sign of malnutrition. I hadn’t seen her mother yet but my mind went quickly to her mother’s initial reaction to pregnancy, “I have seven children I already can’t feed”….cue my heart dropping into my stomach with an immediate heaviness.

Shashu & Merielle. Merielle prays daily for this family & Shashu was SO excited to show Merielle her home for the first time.

Shashu & Merielle. Merielle prays daily for this family & Shashu was SO excited to show Merielle her home for the first time.

High: The next day I brought a big bag of Moringa to Shashu’s mother, talking to her about how I brought  for her as I know it must be hard to provide during her 7th month of pregnancy. I asked if she knew about using “doliv” in the form I had come with, dry and in powder form – with a big smile she replied yes, as the President’s wife talks about it on the radio and so did teams with CPR-3 in June 2013. By the end of June Emily Klipa, one of our summer staff, turned to me and asked is Shashu was in the family I had taken moringa to. She asked because she said she could see the physical difference and her interactions with Shashu were different as well. (What’s Moringa? https://cpr-3.com/moringa/). Physical & spiritual coming together again, I love it! And I love moringa as people can’t help but call it “The Miracle Tree”. Most of all, I love being able to simply hand a tool over to a mother who needs just that – a simple resource that she knows how to use and believes in, that she can bring into her life, adding it into meals for her children that she is already making.

Devinson, his sister Kiana, and neighborhood friend Kali.

Devinson, his sister Kiana, and neighborhood friend Kali.

Bonus high: “Graduation” ceremony for the end of the year. Over the top and I don’t understand it (or necessarily agree with it, as parents can never afford it) – but the pictures….just look. From big sis leading them to have me take pictures (because they can’t afford the studio) to the oversized clothing bought to be able to fit for as long as possible with the high price being paid.

photo 2

photo 3 (2)

Keep checking for more updates on summer 2014 with CPR-3!

{My 5 year commitment will start when I am funded for my first year in Haiti. This is about 28,000 & I am at almost 50%. I am in need of partners. This includes one-time but also annual or monthly partners who are willing to play a huge part in this mission by SENDING. The mission does not exist if I am not sent. If you felt led to give or you have a church or organization you can connect me with, please e-mail me as I am in Columbus, Ohio support raising! My e-mail is steph@cpr-3.com & I love to talk about anything you have to ask or share. For more info on giving, simply contact me by e-mail}

Leave a Reply

