Tumbling in My Head This Week

We seem to all be frustrated with where we are planted (and if you are not, then soak up some encouragement to pass on to someone else, because it’s potentially one of your friends that is frustrated).

We are burnt out, disappointed with the community we have been placed in, very aware of the crusty, dry patches of brown grass where we are while dreaming of the soft, green fields that are on the other side of what we are being held back from. We know that everyone around us has messed it up and we are the only ones aware of what needs to be done or the “holes” where we are. We are unappreciated, unseen, placed somewhere we don’t thrive, overwhelmed with silly pet issues that we don’t want to give a second of time to but that keep popping up. We were meant for more than this.

Even more in “ministry”, whatever that phrase means, it seems that of ALL the places…this has become one of the places full of opportunities for bitterness, frustrations, and apathy to grow.

But, Christ followers…our perspectives are so skewed.

MY perspectives get so screwed.

Since when does “light in the darkness” only apply to a meth house in West Columbus?

Why on earth do we apply promises of God everywhere BUT what our home base is?

How come inspirational quotes always instill images and dreams and gigantic hopes for “there” and never here and now?

I dream of being “planted” where light is needed and then roll my eyes at the frustration in the community of fam around me TODAY.

My retweets are aimed at world change and boldly proclaim the impossible, and then I set my phone down and literally whine like a child about the mountain in front of me that is written on my schedule.

WHAT IN THE WORLD HAVE I BEEN DOING?

How do I miss the obvious so easily, and for such long amounts of time? How embarrassing to write this even – as I clearly have missed points that scripture and teaching and the Holy Spirit easily make clear before my own “breakthrough” to actually hear and apply it.

FOLLOWER OF CHRIST. As you and I say, “I am so in love with Jesus”, WE ARE PLANTED.

We are light in the darkness. WE ARE EVEN LIGHT IN THE LIGHT. There is darkness everywhere as we live this side of redemption, so don’t put all the hope and dreams into “light in the darkness” and applying that truth to a mission into a brothel in India and not into the inter-personal communication and menial job tasks of even fellow Kingdom chasers.

We are planted to transform spaces around us.

Fed up where you’re at?

GOOD.

That means you can buckle down and have a PURPOSE where you are to DO something about it.

If YOU are fed up with it, imagine…won’t EVERYONE benefit from you lighting up and transforming that space?

We are designed and placed to take fallen, broken spaces and come alongside the King of Kings and Author of the Universe as he delicately and boldly (somehow at the same time) TRANSFORMS them into what they were created to be.

“Peace: If you are in a city or a community that is broken, where people are burned out or spiritually lost—stay as long as you can.” -@timkellernyc

One of those “it’s haunting me” (as in, with 23,145 verses in the Bible how does THE SAME KEEP COMING UP) ideas in Scripture for MONTHS has been Revelation 2. There’s a church that is great at good deeds, perseverance, their theology of suffering…..
And Jesus says, “But I have this one complaint against you. You don’t love me or each other as you did at first!” (2:4)……
I KNOW that I would be different in the middle of my frustrations and apathy and everything in between if I listened to this. I KNOW that just waking up would have me going, “there is an ADVENTURE to EMBRACE in today”. Imagine. Imagine what He will do if I do this. Imagine what will happen when the Holy Spirit answers my prayers and helps me get here.
And those in ministry….special note. We will be SO EFFECTIVE in changing ourselves that the words we are tempted to say and the internal battles on how to change the subculture become IRRELEVANT as God NATURALLY transforms the spaces around us after first transforming US. This is where I say we can be light even in the light.
Not only CAN we….it’s that we WILL.
He is VERY clear on what He made us for. Transforming spaces.
Whoosh. The Lord is good.
2 thoughts on “Tumbling in My Head This Week

  1. You are living the “Insanity of God” as Nik Ripken calls it in his book of the same name. This life of following Jesus and going into all the world is hard and sometimes seemingly meaningless and then every once in a while you see hope and light! Therefore put on the whole armor of God….that I may open my mouth BOLDLY to make know me the mystery of the gospel for which I am an ambassador in chains (which you feel like in Haiti at times), that in it you may speak boldly and in love! Praying for you!

    Connie

Leave a Reply

